Looking for MFA’s Next Logger of the Year

nominations needed by September 3, 2010

Since it began in 1987, the LOY award program seeks to recognize excellence in forestry and is open to all independent wood fiber harvesting or logging contractors. Preference will be given to those actively participating in the MD/DE Master Logger Program.

Who can submit a nomination? Anyone! Forest Landowners, foresters, forest products companies and fellow loggers are all encouraged to submit a letter of nomination for any logger they feel exemplifies the best in logging contractors. You do not need to be an MFA member to nominate someone for this award.

Judging: The nominations will be judge by members of the MD/DE Master Logger Steering Committee on behalf of the MFA Board of Governors. Finalists judged by on-the-ground inspection visit by a 2 or 3 member team appointed by the Board.

Prizes: Laser engraved wooden plaque, complimentary registration and guest package for finalist (and spouse) at the MFA Annual Conference in November. The recipient will be nominated to the Forest Resources Association's (FRA's) Outstanding Logger Award Program.

Deadline: Nomination must be received by the MFA Office in Grantsville by September 3, 2010.

MFA Logger of the Year ~ Past Recipients
2009 - Furman Forest Services, LLC, Frostburg, MD
2008-Norm Nicol, Tree Family Logging, LLC , Frostburg, MD
2007 - R&S Logging, Millington, MD
2006 - Sines Logging, Friendsville, MD
2005 - Cessna Brothers Logging, Clearville, PA **
2004 - Curtis E. Clark & Sons Logging, Everett, PA
2003 - Paul Egolf, Low Country Timber Company, Stockton, MD
2002 - Beckman Lumber, Mt. Lake Park, MD
2001 - Steve Brown, Longridge, LLC , Fruitland, MD
2000 - Clyde "Stevie" Stevenson, Ota Stevenson, Inc., Salisbury, MD**
1999 - Calvin Dolan, Jr., Dolan Logging, Oldtown, MD
1998 - Phil MacDonald, Timber Harvest, Inc., Cordova, MD
1997 - David Earl Opel, Double D Logging, Frostburg, MD
1996 - Payne's Logging, Inc., Delmar, MD
1995 - Arthur Egolf, Egolf Forest Harvesting, Delmar, DE
1994 - Jim Lynch, L&W Harvesting, Inc., Mardella Springs, MD
1993 - Fred Glasglow, Glasglow Logging, Salisbury, MD
1992 - Richard R. Brown, Salisbury, MD
1991 - Greg VanMeter, VanMeter pulpwood Company, Bushwood, MD
1990 - Eddie Moore, Willards, MD
1989 - D&J Timber, Swanton, MD
1988 - C.W. Matthews & Sons, Laurel, DE
1987 - Wallace Johnson, Mechanicsville, MD**

** These loggers received FRA's Regional Outstanding Logger Award Wallace Johnson for the Appalachian Technical Division in 1988
"Stevie" Stevenson for the Southeastern Technical Division in 2001
Cessna Brothers Logging for the Appalachian Technical Division in 2006.

No comments: